What's new

Sous Vide

Scat

Has anyone cooked using this method? My kids gave me a sous vide cooker for my birthday. I have used it three times now and it is amazing. I've made steak a couple of times and salmon once. Hands down some of the best meat I have ever eaten. Moist and tender. I'll never cook a steak any other way again. Looking forward to doing some chicken and ribs.

I have been using sous vide for several years now. IMHO the very best implementation is for really thick pork tenderloin chops.

I also use it for eggs. Just drop them right in at 153 for 45 min in their shell. Wonderfully gooey.

Has anyone cooked using this method? My kids gave me a sous vide cooker for my birthday. I have used it three times now and it is amazing. I've made steak a couple of times and salmon once. Hands down some of the best meat I have ever eaten. Moist and tender. I'll never cook a steak any other way again. Looking forward to doing some chicken and ribs.

Yeah, just makes cooking things correctly much much easier. Just takes longer.

I think we had a thread on this once before. I've been doing this for several years now as well. Round roast at 136 for 36 hours makes it taste like tenderloin.

For cheap steaks, sous vide is great as it breaks down tough meat and makes it more tender. Also works well on chicken.

For a good choice or prime ribeye, porterhouse (NY/fillet) use the reverse sear method after salting the meat uncovered in a clean fridge for at least 24 hours (get a meat thermometer if you don't have one). Thank me later.

For cheap steaks, sous vide is great as it breaks down tough meat and makes it more tender. Also works well on chicken.

For a good choice or prime ribeye, porterhouse (NY/fillet) use the reverse sear method after salting the meat uncovered in a clean fridge for at least 24 hours (get a meat thermometer if you don't have one). Thank me later.