What's new

Jordan Pulls Bait & Switch, Conspiracy?

AlaskanAssassin

Since following the DeAndre Jordan fiasco, I've come to wonder if it's possible that this entire episode was orchestrated by the Clippers front office. You could argue that the landscape of the Western Conference would be very different right now if DeAndre had never committed to the Mavs. The Mavs likely would have either retained Chandler or pushed harder for LaMarcus Aldridge, which would have had a ripple effect on the rest of free agency.

If I'm an NBA General Manager and I know a rival is interested in one of my free agents, there is no better way to hurt them than by doing what DeAndre did. The Mavs are now "stuck" with cap space with no good players left to spend it on. This will likely have a 4-5 year negative impact on their franchise.

Even if the front office wasn't involved, who's to say Clipper players didn't orchestrate this? How would we ever know?

I thought you mean Michael Jordan.

No, I think it was DeAndre Jordan being insecure. He wanted some attention, so he went to the team that said they would run some plays for him on offense. Word gets out thats why he agreed to the Mavs, so the Clippers comeback and say the same things back. He wanted to be with the Clippers all along, he just wanted to be appreciated more.

The Mavs arent really a rival to anyone in the Western Conference besides the mid-tier teams trying to get into the playoffs. If one of our players, or someone from Phoenix/NOLA, did this then maybe you have some basis for conspiracy.

https://espn.go.com/dallas/nba/stor...-jordan-decision-renege-deal-dallas-mavericks