What's new

Leaving Los Angeles

Stifle Tower

Punch Bowl Re-Filler
So after 17 years in the belly of the beast, I've decided (with 99% certainty) it's time to get out of Tinseltown. No weird dreams in the night; we're not taking our tents and fleeing into the wilderness. Although since we don't have any gold, silver or very many precious things, that wouldn't be hard to do. It's a combination of many things: bad economy, high cost of living, concern over the school system (see problems in the middle and high schools my daughter would eventually be attending), etc.

We haven't settled on a specific area yet...so this is where I'm asking for any of you to input your observations/experiences. And I ask all of you to be considerate and stay on topic here. I know we often joke around - and I do it as much as others - but this is a serious, life-altering decision. We're hoping to stay in the western U.S. - obviously some of that will depend on me securing employment. BTW, I work as a Financial Analyst (on the corporate level - budgeting, reporting, variance and strategic analysis). So pretty much limited to major metropolitan areas that have mid to large companies with enough significant mass to need analysts. Unfortunately, I don't have the working capital to start up my own business or buy a franchise...wish I did.