What's new

My guide on what to watch for in draft prospects using their highlights

Lion's Roar

First and foremost it should be pretty clear that highlights aren't the best way to evaluate players. But what happens when you the casual fan goes to the specialty websites and the best you can watch is a bunch of highlights on the prospects trying to make it at the NBA level? Well I'll share how I do it and hope you agree with me. I'm no expert but I do follow the draft and the NBA quite a bit over the last two decades.

#1 Know your team

When evaluating a player remind yourself that he might not suit your team. Unless you're drafting a player that is a franchise changer your team system (if they have one) is quite important. For instance if your team spends it's time on a pick and roll steady diet that focus on the 3 remaining players spacing the floor a good baseline cutter isn't as important as a team that focus on a flex offense full of movement along the baseline. In this case the same player will have different values to different teams depending solely on their offensive system.

#2 NBA's perimeter defense

There once was a time when you would look at a prospect and say: "that dude does this in college but the perimeter defenders in the NBA won't let him do this". Now you have to say " how well will this dude look in the NBA when defenders can't even breath on him in the perimeter?". Amazing slasher's with basketball IQ's are nearly impossible to stop in today's NBA unless they really can't shoot and the defense can move 3 feet back while guarding them.

#3 Pick and Roll

You may like it or not but most teams play the pick and toll extensively so be aware of players that state things like "can't play the pick and roll" or even worse "can't defend the pick and roll".

#4 Kiss of death of draft prospects