What's new

Negotiating?

bigb

Free at last!!!
Contributor
As a lot of you know, I'm an electrician in Salt Lake. While I still am an employee, my boss (my dad) lets me do as much work on the side as I can find. He'll even throw my some side jobs if we're too busy or he doesn't want to do them. I do all of my side jobs after hours (nights and weekends). I don't do estimates, I give a firm bid. If it's a service call to find and fix a problem, I'm up front with my hourly rates and I specifically state what my minimum charge is. The last couple of jobs I looked at, I gave the owners a price to do the work they wanted done, only to have them come back and ask for a lower price.
So my question is this: Do any of you do this? Is this the new way of doing things? Call a professional for a price and then try to negotiate the price down? Everybody in the profession I talk to does it the same way I do, they give a bid. If that's the way things are going, while I think that sucks, I'll have to adapt and go with it. But that means my opening price becomes higher, so there is room to negotiate.

I'm very interested in the responses to this.

I pretty much pay the bid for every HI project I call for. I realize you are wasting your time driving all the f'in way out to my house and then have to drive all the way back to my house the next day to do some small yet technical task. I figure roughly $80 each trip is built into your cost of doing business. However, most people are assholes who would rather quibble over $60 on a $600 job than have the peace of mind that they aren't screwing over the guy who is putting in something that could potentially burn their house down. I would rather hire quality and pay a very small bit extra in the grand scheme of things. I tend to know what rates are and if you are ripping me off or not. Give me a fair price and I'll gladly pay it.