What's new

Trade Gobert

Et tu Brute

I am wondering if the added defensive prowess of Gobert is worth more to the Jazz than a #1 scoring option?
I have been pondering this since Hayward left.

Favors is a better center than PF in the evolved game. How productive could he be if he was the full time center? Would his potential as an offensive player balance out his reduced defensive impact? (But he is clearly a plus defender).

What trade could make sense?
I am not a trade expert - so this may be all wrong. But I am working under the assumption that without draft picks involved salaries need to match (generally).

Celtics send:
Tatum ($5.6 million)
Baynes ($4.3 million)
Larkin ($1.5 million) (I doubt they would throw in Rozier?) - Jazz waive
Morris ($5 million)
Celtics send some cash.

Jazz send:
Gobert
Neto
O'Neal

The point of this for Jazz is, Tatum is perhaps the best chance of a #1 scoring option with some size from the last couple of drafts (outside of Simmons). He could be a great offensive player in the league. This could make the Jazz a better team in the future - and could give the Celtics a real opportunity for a chip in the next couple of years.

Celtics (2018):
Hayward
Horford
Gobert
Brown
Irving

Is a friggin awesome starting unit!

Jazz
Tatum/Ingles
Morris/Ingles
Favors/Baynes
Mitchell/Hood
Rubio/Exum

More moves to be made in the future - including Hood.

I would consider it.
Scoring studs with size are probably worth more than limited offensive players who are defensive beasts.

Also, getting rid of Gobert means you can tank properly. Tatum won't be as impactful this year - so it helps improve the pick this year.

Of course if you think Gobert is a non-negotiable, this thread will get negged into the stone age.

Last edited: