What's new

Business questions

bigb

Free at last!!!
Contributor
I've made reference to it in other threads, but I've just taken over the family business. My dad retired, so I'm running the company.
A short history: my grandpa was an electrician, my dad was/is an electrician, I'm an electrician. Pops started this company in the mid 80's. He's been pretty successful. There were times he had 15+ employees. Since the market crash in '08, it's just been me and him. Most (90%) of our work is contracting. We have several General Contractors that we work for. I love that. We also have some apartment complexes and office buildings that we do maintenance work in. That's great, too. We get the occasional call out for service work. These are mostly people we've done work for in the past, or their friends/family.
So here's my question: when you need a professional to fix something, how do you decide who to call? Do you find an ad somewhere? Do you look for an online coupon? What do you do?
I ask because while I love doing my contractor work, I wouldn't mind getting more service work. It's basically guaranteed money as I give an upfront cost on my hourly rate; and then if it's a big fix, I give a bid on that. I don't really want to base my whole business on it as it can be very hit or miss, but I'm interested in expanding that. The old man never did any advertising and I'm looking at my options.

FB is a growing way to spread word of mouth. There are area based "rant and rave" pages that many locals join. From what I have seen a lot of people ask opinions on specific professions. Like I need a plumber who do you recommend and why? The smart businesses join these pages under a FB profile for their business and while they don't spam they have a presence.